Official language in: 29 Countries… France, Benin, Burkina Fasa, Congo, DR Congo, Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Gabon, Guinea, Mali, Monaco, Niger, Senegal, Togo

Co-language in: Belgium, Burundi, Cameroon, Canada, Chad, Central African Republic, Comoros, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Haiti, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Rwanda, Seychelles, Switzerland, Vanuatu

Minority language in: Guernsey, Lebanon, Mauritius, Vatican

Spoken by: 76.8 million worldwide

Language family: Romance language – Indo-European language

Writing system: Latin (French alphabet)

Fun fact: French is the only language, with English, that is taught in every country of the world, with 100 million students and 2 million teachers – 20% of whom are outside of francophone* countries.

(*Francophone = French speaking country)

Why not take the Language of the Month Challenge for French.

Send your entries to pupilportal@lifeeducationtrust.com

See here what challenges others have done.


French words, numbers and phrases

French Language pack

France – the country

French speaking countries

Francophone Virtual Trip Activity booklet