Official language in: Turkey

Co-language in: Cyprus, Northern Cyprus

Minority language in: Bosnia & Herzegovina, Greece, Iraq, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Romania

Spoken by: 75.7 million (native)

Language family: Western Oghuz – Oghuz – Common Turkic – Turkic

Writing system: Latin (Turkish alphabet)

Fun Fact: Turkish completely changed it’s alphabet in 1928. They changed the entire alphabet from Arabic script to a westernized latin alphabet.

Why not take the Language of the Month Challenge for Turkish.

Send your entries to pupilportal@lifeeducationtrust.com

See here what challenges others have done.


Turkish words and phrases

Turkish Language Information Pack

Turkey – the Country

Republic Day (Turkey)

Turkish alphabet video (YouTube)

Langfocus – video about Turkish (YouTube)