Official language in: Nigeria

Minority language in: Benin, Togo,

Spoken by: 50 million (native)

Language family: Edekiri – Yoruboid – Volta-Congo – Atlantic-Congo – Niger-Congo

Writing system: Latin (Yoruba alphabet)

Fun Fact: Yoruba has had different writing systems. In the 17th century, the influence of Muslims led to the introduction of Ajami script. Now the Latin alphabet is used for the writing. It is modified though according to the requirements of the Yoruba language.


Yoruba Words and Phrases

Yoruba Language information pack

Nigeria – the country

Benin – the country

Togo – the country